Who are you?

Who are you, my poem and my song,
who are you, the breath I’ve held too long?
I look in the distance, you to see,
while still afar off I run to be
with you, my beauty, one day my bride.
We shall walk together, side by side
on those far soft shores, by distant streams;
we shall walk in the long quiet dreams.
Who are you, my twilight and my shade,
who are you, my love I will not trade?
A thousand eyes pass before my face;
I seek yours for the end of this race,
your hand to hold through any coming storm,
our hearts a place for both to be warm,
you in mine and me in yours, dwelling
in the shining future up-welling.
Who are you, my neighbor and my friend,
who are you, to whom my heart I send?
I have felt the breath of your goodbye
before ever have I seen your eye;
your touch lingers soft upon my palm,
the sweetest perfume and softest balm.
A thousand hours I wait for your breath,
touch of love, stronger even than death.
Who are you, my garden and my rose,
who are you, for whom my longing grows?

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

